13. Christmas & autism

I love Christmas. The Christmas tree lights give the home a different dimension. In my family it is a time to indulge in the rich traditional foods my sister and I grew up with, much of which we would not normally consume again until Easter. By then the adults would have worked off some of the weight we had put on at Christmas. It is also a time for us all to be together, to relax and enjoy the surprise on each others faces at the gifts we each receive.  This year however, I had already consumed four Christmas lunches/dinners in one week. By the time Christmas day came I felt and looked like a stuffed turkey!  As a self-employed person I found myself with no invitations to Christmas lunches. Now as an employee, like the buses they all came at once.

On the day my niece greeted her grandmother & I with the usual ‘Hello Ugly’.  I have come to acknowledge that what comes across as rudeness is her pre-teen way of showing affection. However, due to her grandmother’s reduced hearing my niece soon found the volume of the tv too loud and retreated to one of the bedrooms.  Interestingly had the music she liked been playing, the volume would have been blaring. Emotionally she was all over the place. One minute teary-eyed, another play fighting with her older, physically stronger brother and coming off badly. I eventually got her to take some drops of a herb to balance her hormones and she became quite contented.  Along with ASD, her hormones are all over the place and generally contributes to a grumpy persona. By the end of the day she asked to play hide and seek, a recurring scenario that she has requested since she was three. What usually happens is that she will hide where I have just previously hidden. When she was three we could excuse this as cuteness.  Now as a pre-teen, first of all the request seems babyish. Secondly from her perspective it could be some kind of security blanket.

 

About 95 Frames per Second

This blog is about my caring journey, looking after family members with high functioning autism / aspergers, multiple sclerosis, getting older, etc. in the midst of trying to function normally. Hopefully along the way you will find my experiences useful. 95 frames per second is roughly the frame rate life runs at.
This entry was posted in Autism Spectrum Disorder. Bookmark the permalink.